Thank you for your patience while we retrieve your images.
Created 4-Mar-14
27 photos

Dunedin (du-nee-dən; Māori: Ōtepoti) is the second-largest city in the South Island of New Zealand, and the principal city of the Otago Region. While Tauranga, Napier-Hastings and Hamilton have eclipsed the city in population in recent years to make it only the seventh largest city in New Zealand, Dunedin is still considered to be one of the four main cities of New Zealand for historic, cultural, and geographic reasons.

Dunedin was the largest city by territorial land area until superseded by Auckland on the creation of the Auckland Council in November 2010. Dunedin was the largest city in New Zealand by population until about 1900. The city population at 5 March 2013 was 120,246.

The Dunedin urban area lies on the central-eastern coast of Otago, surrounding the head of Otago Harbour. The harbour and hills around Dunedin are the remnants of an extinct volcano. The city suburbs extend out into the surrounding valleys and hills, onto the isthmus of the Otago Peninsula, and along the shores of the Otago Harbour and the Pacific Ocean.

The city's largest industry is tertiary education – Dunedin is home to the University of Otago, New Zealand's first university (1869), and the Otago Polytechnic. Students account for a large proportion of the population; 21.6 percent of the city's population was aged between 15 and 24 at the 2006 census, compared to the New Zealand average of 14.2 percent.
Dunedin Farewell-Dunedin Farewell--2Dunedin Farewell--3Dunedin Farewell--4Dunedin Farewell--5Dunedin Farewell--6Dunedin Farewell--7Dunedin Farewell--8Dunedin Farewell--9Dunedin Farewell--10Dunedin Farewell--11Dunedin Farewell--12Dunedin Farewell--13Dunedin Farewell--14Dunedin Farewell--15Dunedin Farewell--16Dunedin Farewell--17Dunedin Farewell--18Dunedin Farewell--19Dunedin Farewell--20

Categories & Keywords
Subcategory Detail: